Sturgill Simpson Sheds Light on 'A Sailor's Guide to Earth,' Shares New Single

Sturgill Simpson Sheds Light on 'A Sailor's Guide to Earth,' Shares New Single
Psych-country songwriter Sturgill Simpson impressed fans of the genre back in 2014 with the release of his sophomore Metamodern Sounds in Country Music. In anticipation of his follow-up record, the Nashville-based performer appeared on Zane Lowe's Beats 1 radio show to shed some light on his forthcoming effort A Sailor's Guide to Earth

"I wanted to express a lot of influences outside of country music, I think there's a lot of room to explore in terms of sonic templates in the genre," he told Lowe. "If there was any intentional approach it was that I wanted to sort of reverse engineer the song craft this time around. In country music especially, it can get very formulaic. You have to have your verses and a chorus but a lot of these songs were written as plain and simple poetry on the road. I decided I was going to frame those poems to music in the studio."

When asked if he entered the studio with a renewed confidence after the success of Metamodern, Simpson was candid in his response. "I'm still pretty scared. If I didn't feel this way then I'd be worried," he admitted. "This record came from a lot of me figuring out my place in that world while it was all happening. We already did Metamodern... so I didn't want to make another psychedelic country album. The band's off the charts, we're just ready to go out and do it."

Ahead of further details, Simpson offered up a taste of what's to come with new single "Brace for Impact (Live a Little)." Read through the tracklisting the track and conversation with Lowe in the players below.

A Sailor's Guide to Earth:

1. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)
2. Breakers Roar
3. Keep It Between The Lines
4. Sea Stories
5. In Bloom
6. Brace For Impact (Live A Little)
7. All Around You
8. Oh Sarah
9. Call To Arms